Sample Sidebar Module

This is a sample module published to the sidebar_top position, using the -sidebar module class suffix. There is also a sidebar_bottom position below the menu.

Sample Sidebar Module

This is a sample module published to the sidebar_bottom position, using the -sidebar module class suffix. There is also a sidebar_top position below the search.
Research Assistance

Originally published in the "Bicentennial Bites" article series by Billie R. McNamara in The Standard-Banner in celebration of Tennessee's 200th statehood anniversary (1996).

If you are sitting comfortably in your home in Jefferson County, do you realize the very spot where you are has been called many things throughout history?  It was once even claimed by several different nations -- sometimes simultaneously!  Before the State of Tennessee was admitted to the United States in 1796, the 41,750 square miles that now comprise our state were considered to be part of many "states."

Native Americans who travelled through and lived here called this area by more than a half-dozen names.  The first white explorers known to have visited East Tennessee, members of Spaniard Hernando de Soto's party, arrived about 1540.  Some researchers believe the party came as far north as present-day Jefferson City, while others think it stopped north of present-day Chattanooga.  James Needham and Gabriel Arthur, Englishmen who came in 1673, were the first white men whose visit to our area is documented.  When the French, English, and Spanish governments were arguing over ownership of this region, it was called Florida, New France, Louisiana, Virginia (until 1663), and Carolina.  Carolina was divided (1693), and our land went with the Northern portion.  For a time, much of present-day East Tennessee belonged to one Englishman, the Earl of Granville.

As settlers migrated across the mountains from North and South Carolina to make their claims in present-day upper East Tennessee, they lived in small communities along major rivers.  North Carolina eventually established the whole area we call Tennessee as the Washington District, later Washington County (1777).  When North Carolina first gave her lands west of the Appalachian Mountains to the United States (1784), rebelling residents formed their own state, Franklin.  After Franklin disbanded (1788), the region was returned temporarily to North Carolina.  Soon afterward (1790), North Carolina again gave her western lands to the U. S., and Congress created the Territory South of the River Ohio (also called "Southwest Territory") from present-day Tennessee.  Finally, the Southwest Territory was admitted as the 16th state -- Tennessee.

Tell a Friend!

Click the link below to share this site with your friends. A new window will open. (We don't collect e-mail addresses.)
For custom maps, graphics, self-publishing, and more ~~
For books, publications, and media ~~

Copyright Information

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and images contained in this domain path [] are copyrighted exclusively to Billie R. McNamara.  All international rights reserved. All material donated by others or located on-line is identified, and copyright in those items is vested in the owner(s).  No copyright infringement is intended by the inclusion of Web-available information on this site for the benefit of researchers.

Neither the Webmistress nor the TNGenWeb Project is responsible for the availability or content of any external Web sites or pages linked from this site.  All links are provided for information purposes only.